OGXbox.com

Bios Flash gone wrong

southcamp

So, hello there. I am new to all this, although I have had my Xbox since 2005. I got it out recently and thought I should "modernize" it - and this is where I should have stopped.

I have an XBOX modded with an X-Changer (not 2.5) and an evo x bios. It started the evolution x dash when pressing the eject button and the X-Changer OS when pressing the power button (interestingly showing two banks to boot from - one 256k and one 512k).

So, first thing I did wrong was softmodding the system with Rocky5's upgrade kit, which deleted the original MSXBOX dashboard. The system, however, continued to work fine. The second time I should have stopped.

Then, after a lot of research, I found out that there exists an updated X-Changer OS, so I updated the OS to V2.2 via network. It worked fine, but after that I could not start the bios anymore. It just circled back to the OS starting page (not showing two bank any more).

So I decided to flash a new bios via network. I chose the latest Cerbios as I read that it should run on an X-Changer. The flash worked fine, but after rebooting the screen stayed black and the light of the XBOX was red.

I guess I must have messed it up, to quote the band GusGus.

My next idea would be to boot with a TruHeXeN ROM and reflash the bios, this time to an evo x one.

So, is there anybody out there kind enough to tell me what went wrong and what I can do? Thanks in advance!

45 minutes ago, southcamp said:

So, hello there. I am new to all this, although I have had my Xbox since 2005. I got it out recently and thought I should "modernize" it - and this is where I should have stopped.

I have an XBOX modded with an X-Changer (not 2.5) and an evo x bios. It started the evolution x dash when pressing the eject button and the X-Changer OS when pressing the power button (interestingly showing two banks to boot from - one 256k and one 512k).