OGXbox.com

Solid Green Light V1.2 (2003-01-04) How to repair?

diesel1024

Hey guys!

I have from what I can tell, an original Xbox V1.2 (Made in china with factory code 30). This xbox has never been opened and has worked perfectly without issue for the 4 years or so I've had it. Recently I was doing a run of story mode on Halo and went to turn it on when my friend came over and it works like it should, but displays no video or audio, turns on fine, you can hear the hdd spin up, disc drive works like normal, but of course you can't play since theres no video or audio output. It has a solid green right when turning on. I would prefer to keep it stock if possible, but ultimately I want this console to be usable, and furthermore I would like to continue my saves. I would be willing to pay extra for parts if I can keep it stock. I repair consumer electronics for a living (MacBooks, Smart Phones, etc.) so I most likely wouldn't have any issues soldering or performing repairs. Any suggestions on what to perform to get this Xbox working again would be extremely helpful! 

Thank you,

Jack

From your description, it's a "COMA" console.  The simple repair trick only works on v1.0 and v1.1 Xboxes with 1MB flash memory chips, not v1.2-v1.4s that only have 256KB devices installed.  One bit in the wrong spot that has flipped from a 0 to a 1 can prevent the BIOS from properly initializing the console.  Thus, the blank screen and no audio.

The manfacturer of the flash memory chips state a longevity of data storage without loss/corruption as 20 years. 

What is the MFG date of your Xbox? Edit: Oops, you already stated that in the title of the original post - 2003-01-04.

What are the last 5 digits of the serial number?

The simple repair for a v1.2 console, is to purchase and install a modchip.  The modchip will get the console back up and running but it will not repair what I believe is a corrupted BIOS stored on the flash memory chip on the motherboard.