OGXbox.com

Classic XBOX Board Rev 1.6 no Picture

Stef

Hi,

i´m Stef from Germany and recently got my hands on a apperantly "half"- working Classic XBOX for free, MFD 2005.

Since almost nothing was included (no AVIF Adapter, Cables of the Controllers were cut and are not available), I removed the AVIF-Socket and
tried to get at least a Composite output on Pins 21&23 by bridging Pins 11&12 in order to select Mode 2 (both seen from the underside of the PCB).

I have no signals on any Video Output Pin except for Scart Blanking. The Box starts up, LED turns solid green, Powerbutton opens the
DVD tray, box turns automatically off after some time of inactivity. Before i made the 11&12-Bridge to select the mode, the Box started to Flash Green/Red after some time, so at least it recognizes the Mode settings and acts accordingly.

Likewise it could be a fried BIOS, but i have some electronics experience (small analog Oscilloscope in 10 MHz Range, a 8 Channel Logic Analyzer and Fluke MM is available) and i´d like to check the Signal Flow / In-out of the - i assume - Video Converter Chip straight below of the AVIF-Plug. Is there any pinout description for this specific IC available or any additional documentation regarding signalling on the board available? Caps seem to be ok, Voltages are in their specific range. Fiddling around with heat in order to detect a loose IC connection or pressing on the board on some areas doesnt´t change anything.

Thank you very much!
Best regards Stef

Edited by Stef

Got forward. I have somewhat like a quite distorted picture, but only in NTSC Mode when 9&10 on the PCB underside is interconnected, which my old 50 Hz C64 Composite Monitor couldn´t display at all. I wonder why 11&12 doesn´t switch into PAL Mode. The Pin Count from the Socket vs the PCB Count is quite confusing for me...

Edited by Stef