OGXbox.com

To Hexen… or not to Hexen?

mikemasiello@gmail.com

So I just finished another successful TSOP flash on a v1.1 and wishing I had spent more time focusing on that vs. having to repair numerous LPC ports from teaching myself to solder. Oh well, I digress…

Since I’m fairly new to flashing bios’s (Xbox) I’ve been reading up on which bios is best for my needs as well as the method of flashing. Since I’m pretty old school I was always taught the importance of having a good boot up disc (ie. Hexen) laying around. Kinda fancy since I grew up thinking we’d be booting everything off floppy disks forever! The more I’ve read I’m finding that maybe Hexen isn’t the most impervious or bulletproof solution out there. 

It would appear that the Hexen-based bios’s could be tainted in a sense (as well as limited in variety). Can someone verify if I’m understanding this correctly? I hear those particular bios files have been pre-configured and therefore not the best choice to flash and replace the old soft mod. I’m of the impression that the most bulletproof method would be hooking up the hard drive to my computer and/or FTP’ing the OGXbox Installer onto it. Anyone?

Lastly, please correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m thinking that it would be silly to use any of these older BIOS’s without any LBA support. I’d like to utilize one of the newer (but not entirely necessary) Titan or Cerbios revisions available. I’d love to hear what you guys have to say about this. 

Thanks in advance for your feedback ✌🏼

1ED55742-287B-4597-8892-E9D2AFD85790.jpeg