OGXbox.com

My Xbox (1.0) destroying my wall socket

Aublak

I'm new to Xbox modding. And I've been hard modding my Xbox. I have a 1.0 Xbox with a Duo X2 installed. I planned on doing a lot of modding to it eventually.

Anyways, I was fooling around with my Xbox trying to get UnleashX installed on a 512gb SSD. As I was pulling the SSD from its sata adapter I suddenly heard a pop sound coming from the wall. No more power was coming from that socket, as well as another socket not too far away. The unit was turned off but still plugged into a power strip when it happened. Maybe I touched something that I shouldn't have on the PSU. Or the PSU is bad. I really don't know. The PSU looks fine on inspection.

I wasn't using the Xbox surge protector unfortunately. Just a simply two prong power cable.

What I really want to know is, "What did I do wrong?"

Is the Xbox still alright? Do I just have to scrap the PSU? What can I do to not let this happen again?

The original Xbox power supplies have a problem with not having enough reinforcement of the AC power plug to prevent it from breaking the solder joints on the bottom side of the PSUs printed circuit board.  With AC power disconnected, remove the PSU from the case and look at the AC power connector solder joints.  Are they cracked or charred from sparking occurring at the solder joints?

Here's an example of a very charred solder joint on a FoxLink PSU:

spacer.png

Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/originalxbox/comments/b5lmun/foxlink_psu_socket_repair/

Read the post for more pictures and how to repair it.

Your Xbox's AC socket may be different than this one.  There's even a more problematic design than the one pictured above see it in the video linked below.