OGXbox.com

Xbox rev 1.6 still won’t power on after multiple fixes

Cytra

I’ve replaced the capacitors, I’ve checked the power cable, the PSU is good, the transistor has been replaced, it’s a 1.6 motherboard in a 1.6 case, I’m completely dumbfounded. I try to press the power button and get no error lights, no sound from the inside of the xbox, nothing. I see no charred spots anywhere on the inside either, so it doesn’t seem like anything is blown. Can I get some recommendations here? P.S. I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to part names and locations, so keep that in mind.

Make sure that the power supply unit's 5Vdc standby voltage is present at the motherboard's power connector.

Use a multimeter set to measure DC Voltages. Set the multimeter to the 20V dc maximum range. Connect the multimeter's red (+) probe to one of the orange wires and its black probe (ground) to one of the black wire metal contacts in the connector body or the metal RF shield.  

psu16delta.gif.ec7fddf86a60d6de23d8d8530ec4161c.gif

Is 5Vdc present?

11 minutes ago, KaosEngineer said:

Make sure that the power supply unit's 5Vdc standby voltage is present at the motherboard's power connector.

Use a multimeter set to measure DC Voltages. Set the multimeter to the 20V dc maximum range. Connect the multimeter's red (+) probe to one of the orange wires and its black probe (ground) to one of the black wire metal contacts in the connector body or the metal RF shield.  

Is 5Vdc present?

Yes, 5Vdc is present.

20 minutes ago, KaosEngineer said:

Okay, now measure the voltage level present at pin 4 of the LPC debug port.  

See: LPC Debug Port - xboxdevwiki for the pinout.

Press the power button. Does the reading go to 0 Vdc?  Next, release the power button. What value does it return to?

Do I have to put the prong not being used somewhere else? I tried both prongs in port 4 individually and both came up as 0.

5 minutes ago, Prehistoricman said: