OGXbox.com

Tips for First Time Hard Mod

mdkmike

im very new to modding and have only soft modded my xbox but would like to take it to the next level. from anyone who has hard modded there console before is there any rookie mistakes that could be avoided or things to look out for ? bare in mind im nervous just to open the thing up lol . thanks 

Edited by mdkmike

It depends a lot on what you mean. Hard mod can be anything from a TSOP flash to a mod chip to an HDMI port or PSU shrink or anything, really.  

Basic steps, don’t be scared of the box, ground yourself on something, and get comfortable with a soldering iron.

If you’re not exactly sure what mod to start with, this site has an excellent guide on TSOP flashing. Also look into http://www.biline.ca/xbox_mod.html

Also, if you haven’t already, use Rocky5’s CD for the softmod. A lot of people still use SID/AID/who knows what and it tends to be filled with old crap.

The TSOP flash mod is pretty simple and will give most of the benefits of a mod chip (hacked BIOS, no dvd, zero out hdd key for EZ replacement) 

A tip for this one: use the HeXen 2018 CD found on this site and *try* to flash a 256k Bios to check exactly which flash chip you have. Just before the BIOS actually gets flashed, it’ll tell you which TSOP you have. If it is a Winbond or Sharp, go back and use the sharp/Winbond TSOP option in HeXen. 

Visual inspection will not always work here, and if you get a corrupt BIOS on your system it’s a bad time.

The coolest mods out there, some of which can be found on this site, are really personal to you. Desperate for HDmi? Multiple guides for that. Wanna use a PC power supply? Schematic’s on this site. 

maybe you have a bunch of wireless controllers and you’re tired of the adapters sticking out of the front. Maybe you want two hard drives because reasons.